Ere Lievonen

Duo Anna Ryu & Ere Lievonen

Eunjung Anna Ryu, violin
Ere Lievonen, fortepiano

Anna Ryu and Ere Lievonen have been playing together since 2005. Their repertory includes both Baroque music with harpsichord, and Classical music with fortepiano.

Eunjung Anna Ryu, native to Korea, studied the violin at the Manhattan School of Music and later with Daniel Phillips at the Aaron Copland School of Music in the United States of America. After finishing her studies there, she began to explore the baroque violin. This led to her participation in Urbino Early Music Festival and Casa de Mateus where she studied with Enrico Gatti and Marc Destrubé. She also studied with Lucy van Dael at the Amsterdam Conservatory and with Antoinette Lohmann at the Utrecht Conservatory.
At the 2005, 2006 and 2007 Utrecht Early Music Festivals, Anna performed in the Fringe concerts. She was co-concertmaster of The Ton Koopman Workshop: Bach Choral Works at the Carnegie Hall in September 2005. She was a participant of L’orchestra Giovanile Accademia Montis Regalis in Mondovi, Italy. In June 2007, she performed and recorded Handel’s ”Rodrigo” with Al Ayre Español.
She finished her studies in the Master’s program at the Royal Conservatoire in The Hague in 2010, studying with Enrico Gatti.

Ere Lievonen is a Finnish harpsichordist, fortepianist, pianist and organist, and he is specialized in historical performance practice as well as in contemporary music. He has studied in Finland and the Netherlands with Jacques van Oortmerssen, Siebe Henstra, Jacques Ogg, Miklós Spányi and Annelie de Man, among others, and he has performed at contemporary and early music festivals in different European countries and the USA. He studied the fortepiano with Bart van Oort, and graduated with a Master’s diploma in 2011.
He plays regularly in many chamber music groups, including the baroque ensembles ALGO and ’Beauty and the Beasts’, as well as the contemporary music ensembles Hexnut and Scala. He is also a founding member of Ensemble Ambrosius, a Finnish ensemble that plays contemporary music on baroque instruments.
Ere Lievonen is also active as a composer, and his works have been performed in several European countries, Thailand and Australia.

Listen to Ludwig van Beethoven’s Sonata no. 4 in A minor op. 23, 1st movement (Presto), played by Anna Ryu (violin) and Ere Lievonen (fortepiano) (mp3, 7.1 Mb, 5′18″)

Program ”Beethoven and his contemporaries”
Sonatas for violin and fortepiano by Beethoven, Hummel and Ries

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827)
Sonata for piano and violin no. 4 in A minor op. 23 (1800) (20′)
– Presto
– Andante scherzoso più Allegretto
– Allegro molto

Johann Nepomuk Hummel (1778–1837)
Sonata for piano and violin in B flat major op. 5 no.1 (1798) (22′)
– Allegro moderato
– Andante con variazioni
– Rondo

Ferdinand Ries (1784–1838)
Sonata for piano and violin in C major op. 16 no. 1 (18′)
– Allegro
– Andantino
– Rondo: Allegro

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827)
Sonata for piano and violin no. 7 in C minor op. 30 no. 2 (1802) (25′)
– Allegro con brio
– Adagio cantabile
– Scherzo: Allegro – Trio
– Finale: Allegro